|• Total||12.08 km2 (4.66 sq mi)|
|0 m (0 ft)|
|• Density||800/km2 (2,100/sq mi)|
|Time zone||UTC+1 (CET)|
|• Summer (DST)||UTC+2 (CEST)|
It stayed independent up until 2001 when, despite fierce opposition of its inhabitants, it was forced to merge with the smaller, neighbouring villages of Zwartsluis and Hasselt to form the municipality of Zwartewaterland.
The town itself doesn't have any buildings over 150 years old as two fires destroyed the town completely in 1866. These fires could not be controlled due to the great number of hay stacks in one street, 'de Achterweg' or 'Nachtweg'. This street still holds a non smoking sign, which is unique for a street in Europe.
Since the 18th century, the people from Genemuiden have been producing floor mats made of the bulrush that grows on the shores of the Zuiderzee. When the quality of the bulrush deteriorated in the 20th century, due to the change from salt water to fresh water (see Zuiderzee), the industry switched over to using coir imported from India to produce mats and carpets. In the sixties the first tufting machines were imported and currently Genemuiden is one of Europe's main production centres of tufted carpet and artificial grass.
- "Kerncijfers wijken en buurten 2021". Central Bureau of Statistics. Retrieved 18 March 2022.
- "Postcodetool for 8281AA". Actueel Hoogtebestand Nederland (in Dutch). Het Waterschapshuis. Retrieved 18 March 2022.
- Frits David Zeiler (2007) Genemuiden, een zorgenkind van de bisschop in: Overijsselse Historische Bijdragen 122e stuk p.66-69 Online Archived 2011-07-19 at the Wayback Machine (in Dutch)
- Official Website (Dutch)
- Website Tapijt Museum / Carpet Museum Genemuiden (Dutch)
- News from Genemuiden (Dutch)
- Pictures of Genemuiden (Dutch)